Background Image for Header:
Online Genealogy Resources
A significant number of resources for genealogy resources are now available online. While travel to courthouses, cemeteries, archives and libraries is likely to be necessary to compile your family history, researchers now have the convenience of accessing many records from home.
The WVRHC has compiled two lists of online genealogy resources:
While we think these links may be useful in your research, the WVRHC cannot vouch for the accuracy of content found on other websites.
Allegheny Regional Family History Society
This society's page links to different searches for both members and nonmembers.
Boone County GenWeb
This site links to many different subjects about Boone County.
Brooke County GenWeb
This site deals with ancestry and genealogy in Brooke County.
Cyndi's List-West Virginia
This page links to many different indexes, from birth records to libraries to wills.
Doddridge County Roots
This is a searchable genealogy index focusing on North Central West Virginia, particularly Doddridge County and, to a lesser extent, the nearby counties of Ritchie, Harrison, Lewis, Gilmer, Tyler, Wetzel and Calhoun.
Genealogy and Family History Centers in West Virginia
This page links to family history centers and family search websites.
Greenbrier Historical Society
Greenbrier Historical Society is dedicated to community enrichment through the education and preservation of the history and culture of the Greenbrier area.
Hacker's Creek Pioneer Descendants
This site links to many resources in regards to finding descendants from this area.
Lincoln County Genealogical Society
This organization was founded for the purpose of gathering and preserving the history of Lincoln County.
Mingo County GenWeb
This site links to many different subjects about Mingo County.
Mining Your History Foundation
This foundation provides information about West Virginia genealogical and historical groups on a national level.
Upshur County Historical Society
This site has information on the history of Upshur County and is concerned with preserving historical sites.
Wayne County Genealogical and Historical Society
This site has information on the society and many other links of interest.
Tyler County Heritage and Historical Society
This site has information about Tyler County heritage and important upcoming events for the society.
The WVGenWeb Project
This site includes a list of all the counties in West Virginia with links to their WVGenWeb sites.
The West Virginia State Archives
Allows you to research Civil and Revolutionary War ancestry and history background, with many other helpful links.
Wheeling Area Genealogical Society
Includes links to biographies, marriages, history, and other subjects about this area.
A search engine to aid in finding family history. The WVRHC provides free access to Ancestry on-site.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
More than 62,000 links to genealogy sites in the Internet
Daughters of the American Revolution
Information on and links to different works of the society
The Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island
Provides links to finding heritage information and research your family's arrival in America
The National Archives Resources for Genealogists
Information relating to research facilities, tips and tools, articles, and other resources on the web
National Genealogical Society
Information about the society
Social Security Death Index
The most powerful and up-to-date Social Security Death Index on the Internet
The USGenweb Project
Provides Internet websites for genealogical research in every county and in every state in the United States