West Virginia Univeristy
Closed

Databases for West Virginia History Research

WVRHC users may find these databases particularly helpful for their research.

A full list of databases available through the WVU Libraries is available on our Databases page. Some databases are also available off campus for WVU Alumni Association members through our Alumni Library Gateway.

Accessible Archives

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particularly useful for civil war and genealogical research....

(More Info)


America History and Life

Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews....

(More Info)


Ancestry Library Edition

A wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more....

(More Info)


Archive Finder

A current directory of 5,400 archives and 124,400 collections of primary source material across the US, UK and Ireland, enabling researchers to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work and find contact information for the repositories....

(More Info)


ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a free database that allows searching across hundreds of institutions' special collections records, including the collections of The West Virginia and Regional History Center....

(More Info)


Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the humanities, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship....

(More Info)


Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877

Primary source documents for research into the American Civil War - provides access to more than 150 newspapers, 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera....

(More Info)


Fold3 (formerly footnote)

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents....

(More Info)


HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U S federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection....

(More Info)


Worldcat.org

Find books located in libraries around the world and use links to WVU Library content and services for easy access....

(More Info)