Databases for West Virginia History Research

The following databases are available to all users in the WVRHC Reading Room. WVU students, faculty, and staff may access some of these databases off campus.

Accessible Archives

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particulary useful for civil war and genealogical research....

(More Info)


America: History and Life

Covers US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews....

(More Info)


Ancestry Library Edition

A wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more....

(More Info)


Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from the most important journals in the arts and humanities, searchable by subject or cited author....

(More Info)


Fold3 (formerly footnote)

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents....

(More Info)


HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U S federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection....

(More Info)


Worldcat.org

Find books located in libraries around the world and use links to WVU Library content and services for easy access....

(More Info)


ABOUT

The West Virginia and Regional History Center is the largest historical archives/library relating to West Virginia in existence.

More…

ON EXHIBIT

Exhibit Poster The Issue Is Upon Us!

More…

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

RESEARCH GUIDES

NEWS & EVENTS

More…